Two-time world cup winning captain, Ricky Ponting, has picked up the legendary batsman Kumar Sangakkara as the captain of his all-time cricketing XI. Several international players have already propounded their all-time XIs as part of Lord’s ground’s online series and the veteran southpaw has already seen him be a part of many of his contemporaries’ all-time XI.

The Australian skipper named Kumar Sangakkara as a specialist batsman at number six claiming that “One of the modern greats… a very determined player; loved winning and gave his team every opportunity to win…he is also a great leader of men, that is why he is my captain.”

Ponting chose his compatriots, Mathew Hayden and Justin Langer, as the opening batsmen while the South African Jacque Kallis was slotted in at number three. His team also boasts of names such as Adam Gilchrist, Shane Warne, Wasim Akram, Glenn McGrath, Curtly Ambrose and Brian Lara.

Sangakkara, who retired last year, plundered 12400 test runs at a colossal average of 57.40 during his 15-year career. His deluxe record across all formats in cahoots with his stupendous skills behind the stumps have won him admirers all over the world and he is widely regarded as the best test batsman since the beginning of this millennium.

Sourav Ganguly, Angelo Mathews, Matt Prior and Adam Voges have already picked Sangakkara in their XI making Ponting the latest of many to include Sanga in their XI.

Ricky Ponting’s all-time XI: Matthew Hayden, Justin Langer, Jacques Kallis, Sachin Tendulkar, Brian Lara, Kumar Sangakkara (c), Adam Gilchrist (wk), Shane Warne, Wasim Akram, Curtly Ambrose, Glenn McGrath