England announce schedule for Sri Lanka tour of England 2016

The last time Sri Lanka toured England, they won all three series.

England will be hosting Sri Lanka during the summer of this year in three test matches, five One Day Internationals and a one-off T20I.

The tour would commence on the 8th of May with Sri Lanka taking on Essex in a warm up match. The first test would be played on the 13th of May in Headingley while the second and third test will be played in Durham and Lord’s, respectively.

The tour would also include two ODIs against Ireland in venues that have yet to be announced. The ODI series against England is to commence on the 21st of June and the tour would come to a conclusion on the 5th of July.

The two month tour would be Sri Lanka’s second tour of England in three years and Sri Lanka made a clean sweep of all the series when they last toured in 2014. However, this would be their first tour of England without both Kumar Sangakkara and Mahela Jayawardene.

The full schedule is as follows:

Wed 4 May – Sri Lanka arrive

Sun 8-Tue 10 May – 3-day v Essex – Chelmsford

Fri 13-Sun 15 May – 3-day v Leicestershire – Grace Rd, Leicester

Thu 19-Mon 23 May – 1st Investec Test – Headingley

Fri 27-Tue 31 May – 2nd Investec Test – Emirates Durham ICG

Thu 9-Mon 13 June – 3rd Investec Test – Lord’s

Thu 16 June – 1st ODI v Ireland – Ireland venue tbc

Sat 18 June – 2nd ODI v Ireland – Ireland venue tbc

Tue 21 June – 1st Royal London ODI D/N – Trent Bridge

Fri 24 June – 2nd Royal London ODI D/N – Edgbaston

Sun 26 June – 3rd Royal London ODI – Bristol

Wed 29 June – 4th Royal London ODI D/N – Kia Oval

Sat 2 July – 5th Royal London ODI – SWALEC, Cardiff

Tue 5 July – NatWest IT20 (f) – Ageas Bowl, Southampton

Wed 6 July – Sri Lanka depart

Source: srilankacricket.lk