Image result for Michael Klinger

Klinger would be hoping to make his international debut at the age of 36.

Australia has named a fresh-looking squad that includes four uncapped players for the three-match T20I series versus Sri Lanka. The team that will be led by Aaron Finch, misses out on some of the big name players like David Warner and Steve Smith.

Among the uncapped players is the 36-year-old veteran batsman, Michael Klinger, who averages 38.76 in T20s at the strike rate of 127.02. Jhye Richardson, Billy Stanlake and Ashton Turner are the other Australian players who would be hoping to make their T20I debuts against Sri Lanka.

Australia’s regular players will be busy preparing for the Test series in India and thus, Australia was forced to hatch a team from some of the greatest performers from the recently concluded Big Bash League.

Tim Paine also makes a comeback into the national team as the wicketkeeper-batsman after around six years thanks to his consistent performances in BBL over a number of years. Brisbane Heat’s ace batsman Chris Lynn has also found himself a place in the squad following his impressive returns in BBL.

Travis Head, Moises Henriques, James Faulkner along with the captain add the much-needed experience to this raw squad while Andrew Tye and Pat Cummins will look to cement their places in the national side.

“With Australia currently ranked number six in this format and with a number of our frontline players preparing for the India Test series, we have chosen a squad with a good blend of experience combined with several younger players in an effort to improve our performance and therefore our ICC T20 ranking,” opined Australia’s interim chief selector.

Ashton Tuner and Adam Zampa provide spin bowling options whereas Pat Cummins, Jhye Richardson and Billy Stanlake form the fast-bowling phalanx.

Squad: Aaron Finch (c), Pat Cummins, James Faulkner, Travis Head, Moises Henriques, Michael Klinger, Chris Lynn, Tim Paine (wk), Jhye Richardson, Billy Stanlake, Ashton Turner, Andrew Tye, Adam Zampa.